Customer Service 787-406-2295

Major League Baseball Announces Series in Puerto Rico between the Marlins vs Mets for 2020

Aug 12, 2019

The New York Mets and Miami Marlins will play a three-game series in Puerto Rico next season.

Major League Baseball announced Monday that the April 28-30 series at Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan will be a home series for the Marlins.

"It is an honor for the Marlins to represent the Major League Baseball in this special series against the Mets," Marlins CEO Derek Jeter said in a statement. “Miami serves as a gateway to the Caribbean and Latin America, and we are grateful for the opportunity to show the new Miami Marlins organization to our neighbors in Puerto Rico. We look forward to the opportunity to celebrate Puerto Rico's rich baseball heritage and passion for the game and continue our mission to grow the game of baseball in our community as we foster shared love for our National Hobby. "

The Mets and Marlins also played a series in Puerto Rico in June 2010, and the Marlins won two of three.

Three other neutral-site MLB games have been played there: one game between the Texas Rangers and the Toronto Blue Jays on April 1, 2001, and two games between the Minnesota Twins and the Cleveland Indians in April 2018.

The Montreal Expos played 43 "home games" at the stadium in 2003 and 2004.